Q. I would like to know if it is permissible to buy kefir grains to make kefir (which seems to be a type of yoghurt made with raw milk). It seems to be very healthy from what I’ve read. I am unsure if the grains, which are a starter culture similar to yeast are sourced from animals or plants. Below is some information which I have found about kefir grains.
A. The article you have forwarded states that in order to make home-made kefir starter culture the “grains” will have to be extracted from the digestive tract. This will involve the use of najaasat (impure substance) which is not permissible.
In so far as the ready-made kefir starter culture is concerned it is not clear how this is derived. It is thus mushtabah (doubtful) at the least and to abstain from it is waajib (obligatory).
Perhaps you can enquire from Dr. Mercola whose link is provided in your article, to clarify how the starter culture is derived and more specifically from where? You could also write to the Molecular Food Microbiology Laboratory (Stellenbosch University) whose article written by Dr Witthuhn appears in the email you sent.
Until it is not established with certainty that the laboratory produced kefir starter culture is free from animal and human sources it will not be permissible to utilize this substance, regardless of the purported benefits.
The Jamiatul-Ulama Gauteng is not a fund raising organization. When depositiong funds, make us your unfettered “Wakeel”. If you are depositing Zakaat, do please ensure that a few extra Rands are deposited in order to offset bank charges.
الأربعاء 15 رمضان 1440 Wednesday Ramadan15 1440 21 May 2019
It was narrated that Abu Hurairah Radiallahu Anhu said:
"Rasulullah Sallallahu Alayhi Wasallam used to encourage (us) to pray Qiyam (Taraaweeh) during Ramadan, without insisting on that, and he said: 'Whoever spends the nights of Ramadan in prayer (Qiyam) out of faith and in the hope of reward, he will be forgiven his previous sins'